Reversible periodization, an interesting approach to training

The season is coming to an end, the days are getting shorter, the temperatures are dropping… this often leads to a decrease in motivation for the endurance athlete, with a decrease in the volume to be devoted to his weekly training.

It is now time to plan your competitions for next season and build your winter training to perform and achieve your goals.

Traditionally, during the winter period, triathletes and cyclists go on a so-called ” building ” preparation with low intensity work. In winter, temperatures are low, rain or snow are often present, so it is not pleasant to do long hours of low intensity training in these conditions! Wouldn’t there be better things to do to improve and/or be motivated by a non-monotonous training that will allow you to improve and prepare for the next season!

Let’s take a look at the principles of periodization

  • The traditional periodization

The concept of periodization has existed for more than 30 years, it consists in dividing the training cycle into distinct phases with specific objectives in order to achieve maximum performance at the time of the target competition. The model is as follows: the athlete must perform a high volume of low intensity training during the winter and then gradually reduce the volume of training to incorporate high intensity work as the competition approaches. This periodization model is described as ranging from general to specific (to competition).

Originally, traditional periodization was developed by the Eastern European bloc to prepare athletes, mainly Russian weightlifters, to perform in a single “Olympic Games” competition in order to win a gold medal.

What may seem surprising is that this model of periodization has been popularized among athletes and coaches around the world, it has now been used seasonally for decades while the same model is supported by very little scientific research that would prove its effectiveness or interest.

By using this model we will remove all the specific work during the winter period. All the work we have done upstream during the previous season and the specific adaptations that have taken so long to develop will be reduced or eliminated and we will have to start again almost from scratch at the more qualitative recovery on the development phase. Working at low intensity for several months will not prepare the body to maintain a high intensity over a long period of time. When the athlete returns to high intensity work, he or she will experience great difficulty and will often be frustrated because he or she will feel less efficient.

  • Reversible periodization 

By focusing on the specific requirements of long-term competition and the physiological and biochemical functioning of the human organism, we can put in place a global strategy to enable the athlete to be constantly on a positive phase and maintain his specific adaptations throughout the year. To do this, a different approach to periodization can be used using the concept of reversible periodization. Instead of having an accumulation of hours of low intensity training and gradually adding intensity as competitions approach, reversible periodization consists in reversing this model by performing high intensity work as soon as training resumes with parallel neuromuscular work via strength/velocity work to gradually superimpose volume to mix it with specific pace work.

With this model we do not work first on intensity and then on endurance. No, we use a different approach mixing intensity and volume all the time with a progressive increase in the training load over the blocks to respect the load ratios.

This different approach in reversible periodization must be considered and managed by an alternation of specific oriented blocks as recommended by the work of Issurin and Ronnestad on the use of the block periodization model.

In addition, high-intensity work must be maximized to produce the best physiological effects on the body, which will generate strong adaptations. Various scientific studies, including those by Seiler or Bacon, have shown that it is the accumulation of a high duration at high intensity (20 to 30′) using effort intervals between 2′ and 8′, with an effort: recovery ratio of 2:1 (the recovery period corresponds to half the period of high intensity effort), which could generate better metabolic adaptations (↑cardiac output ↑VO2max). High intensity work with short intervals (example: 30”/ 30”’) with a low accumulation of volume would generate metabolic adaptations at the peripheral level but will actually have little impact on the stimulation of VO2max.

The Seiler’s Hierarchy

In addition to the presentation of the concepts of traditional periodization and reversible periodization, it is interesting to give you a short introduction to the work of Seiler who is a Norwegian sports scientist specialized in training periodization who has worked extensively on training polarization.

His recent work on the hierarchy of endurance athlete needs in his preparation is in line with reversible periodization:

  • Importance of the training volume
  • Use of high-intensity work to maximize adaptations
  • Management of the intensity distribution
  • Regular use of the specific running pace during training
  • He also points out that the use of traditional periodization is not clear and certainly overestimated in its benefits in terms of progress.

Feedback from experience

We have been using this approach to training with our athletes for 6 years now. We were able to observe performance gains during the winter period and especially during competitions but also a pleasure for athletes to evolve within this training process which is not monotonous.

We also invite you to read the interview with Tim KERRISON, Head Coach Team Sky, on the subject of this approach to training: https://www.ridemedia.com.au/interviews/tim-kerrison-coaching-sky/

To conclude

Traditional periodization is not bad, depending on the athletes and the discipline prepared, but reversible periodization may potentially be more appropriate for endurance athletes (triathlon, cycling, running…).

  • The interest of traditional periodization:
    • Professional athletes who have time to spend in training
    • Athletes who are fortunate enough to live all year round in a warm climate
    • Athletes who do not have good basic aerobic fitness
  • The interest of reverse periodization:
    • Increase his working time at high intensity to reinforce metabolic adaptations during an adequate period when the athlete does not compete in a series of competitions that could generate harmful fatigue
    • Respect for the principle of progressiveness and the management of load ratios
    • Train less in winter to avoid the constraints of bad weather
    • Interesting for athletes who do not have a high volume to devote to winter training
    • Athletes who train in cold climates during the winter
    • Maintain a strong motivation for training
    • Reduce the monotony of training sessions
    • With reversible periodization, the athlete will feel stronger and in better condition as the spring season approaches.
    • The combination of volume/high intensity and work at a specific pace will make it possible to maintain a higher intensity with the same level of effort (objective & subjective).

You now have all the cards in your hands to make your own choice of winter periodization.

To go further:

  • Bacon et al (2013). VO2max Trainability and High Intensity Training In Humans: A Meta-Analysis.
  • Issurin V, 2010. New horizons for the methodology and physiology of training periodization.
  • Rønnestad & al, 2014. Block periodization of high-intensity aerobic intervals provides superior training effects in trained cyclists.
  • Seiler, & al, 2013. Adaptations to aerobic interval training: interactive effects of exercise intensity and total work duration.
  • Seiler, 2010. What is best practice for training intensity and duration distribution in endurance athletes?
  • Tonnessen & al, 2014. The road to gold: training and peaking characteristics in the year prior to a gold medal endurance performance.

La périodisation réversible, une approche intéressante de l’entraînement

La saison touche à sa fin, les jours raccourcissent, les températures baissent … cela occasionne souvent une baisse de motivation chez l’athlète d’endurance avec surtout une diminution du volume à consacrer à son entraînement hebdomadaire.

Il est maintenant venu le temps de planifier vos compétitions pour la saison prochaine et de construire votre entraînement hivernal pour performer et atteindre vos objectifs. 

Traditionnellement, durant la période hivernale, les triathlètes et les cyclistes partent sur une préparation dite « foncière » avec du travail à basse intensité. En hiver, les températures sont basses, la pluie ou la neige sont bien souvent au rendez-vous, il n’est donc pas agréable de faire de longues heures d’entraînement à basse intensité dans ces conditions ! N’y aurait-il pas mieux à faire pour progresser et/ ou être motivé par un entraînement non monotone qui va permettre de progresser et préparer la saison suivante !?

Faisons le point sur les principes de périodisation 

  • La périodisation traditionnelle 

Le concept de périodisation existe depuis plus de 30 ans, il consiste à diviser le cycle d’entraînement en phases distinctes avec des objectifs spécifiques en vue d’atteindre des performances maximales au moment de la compétition cible. Le modèle est le suivant : l’athlète doit effectuer un haut volume d’entraînement à basse intensité durant l’hiver puis progressivement diminuer le volume d’entraînement pour y intégrer du travail à intensité élevé à l’approche de la compétition. Ce modèle de périodisation est décrit comme allant du général au spécifique (à la compétition). 

A l’origine, la périodisation traditionnelle a été élaborée par le bloc de l’Europe de l’Est pour préparer des athlètes, essentiellement les haltérophiles Russes, à être performant sur une seule compétition « Les Jeux Olympique » afin de décrocher une médaille d’Or. 

Ce qui peut paraitre étonnant c’est que ce modèle de périodisation a été popularisé auprès des athlètes et des entraîneurs, dans le monde entier, il est utilisé maintenant au fil des saisons depuis des décennies alors que ce même modèle n’est soutenu que par très peu de recherches scientifiques qui prouveraient son efficacité ou son intérêt. 

En utilisant ce modèle on va supprimer l’ensemble du travail spécifique durant la période hivernale. Tout le travail qu’on aura effectué en amont durant la saison précédente et les adaptations spécifiques qu’on aura mis tant de temps à développer vont être réduites ou supprimées et il faudra recommencer presque à zéro à la reprise plus qualitative sur la phase de développement. Du travail à basse intensité durant plusieurs mois ne va pas préparer l’organisme à maintenir une intensité élevée sur une longue durée. Lorsque l’athlète va reprendre le travail à haute intensité il va ressentir beaucoup de difficulté et sera souvent frustré car il se sentira moins performant. 

  • La périodisation réversible 

En ayant une vision centrée sur les exigences spécifiques de la compétition de longue durée et sur le fonctionnement physiologique et biochimique de l’organisme humain, nous pouvons mettre en place une stratégie globale pour permettre à l’athlète d’être constamment sur une phase positive et maintenir ses adaptations spécifiques tout au long de l’année. Pour cela, une approche différente de la périodisation peut être employée en utilisant le concept de périodisation réversible. Au lieu d’avoir une accumulation d’heures d’entraînement à basse intensité et d’ajouter l’intensité progressivement à l’approche des compétitions, la périodisation réversible consiste à inverser ce modèle en effectuant du travail à haute intensité dès la reprise de l’entraînement avec en parallèle du travail neuro-musculaire via un travail de force/ vélocité pour superposer progressivement du volume pour le mêler avec du travail à allure spécifique. 

Avec ce modèle on ne travaille pas dans un 1er temps l’intensité puis dans un 2ème temps l’endurance. Non on utilise une approche différente mêlant tout le temps intensité et volume avec une augmentation progressive de la charge d’entraînement au fil des blocs pour respecter les ratios de charge.

Cette approche différente en périodisation réversible doit s’envisager et être gérée par une alternance de bloc à orientation spécifique comme préconisée par les travaux d’Issurin et Ronnestad sur l’utilisation du modèle de périodisation par bloc.

En complément, le travail à haute intensité doit être maximisé pour produire les meilleurs effets physiologiques sur l’organisme ce qui permettra de générer de fortes adaptations. Différents travaux scientifiques, dont ceux de Seiler ou Bacon, ont pu mettre en évidence que c’est l’accumulation d’une durée élevée à haute intensité (20 à 30’) en utilisant des intervalles d’effort entre 2’ et 8’, avec un ratio effort : récupération de 2:1 (la période de récupération correspond à la moitié de la période d’effort à haute intensité), qui pourrait générer de meilleures adaptations métabolique (↗️débit cardiaque ↗️VO2max). Le travail à haute intensité avec des intervalles courts (exemple : 30 »/ 30 ») avec une faible accumulation de volume engendrerait lui des adaptations métaboliques au niveau périphérique mais aura en réalité peu d’impact sur la stimulation du VO2max.

La Seiler’s Hierarchy

En complément de la présentation des concepts de périodisation traditionnelle et périodisation réversible, il est intéressant de vous faire une petite introduction des travaux de Seiler qui est un sportscientist Norvégien spécialiste de la périodisation d’entraînement qui a énormément travaillé sur la polarisation d’entraînement.

Ses récents travaux sur la hiérarchie des besoins de l’athlète d’endurance dans sa préparation va dans le sens de la périodisation réversible : 

  • Importance du volume d’entraînement
  • Utilisation du travail à haute intensité pour maximiser les adaptations
  • Gestion de la distribution de l’intensité
  • Utilisation régulière de l’allure spécifique de course à l’entraînement

Il met également en avant que l’utilisation de la périodisation traditionnelle n’est pas clair et certainement surestimé dans ses bienfaits en terme de progression. 

Retour d’expérience

Nous utilisons cette approche de l’entraînement avec nos athlètes depuis maintenant 6 ans. Nous avons pu observer des gains de performance durant la période hivernale et surtout lors des compétitions mais également un plaisir des athlètes à évoluer au sein de ce processus d’entraînement qui n’est pas monotone.

Nous vous invitons également à lire l’interview de Tim KERRISON, Head Coach Team Sky, sur le sujet de cette approche de l’entraînement : https://www.ridemedia.com.au/interviews/tim-kerrison-coaching-sky/

Pour conclure

La périodisation traditionnelle n’est pas mauvaise, selon les athlètes et la discipline préparée, mais une périodisation réversible peut être potentiellement plus adéquate pour les athlètes d’endurance (triathlon, cyclisme, course à pied …). 

  • L’intérêt de la périodisation traditionnelle : 
    • Les athlètes professionnels qui ont du temps à passer à l’entraînement
    • Les athlètes qui ont la chance d’habiter toute l’année dans un climat chaud
    • Les athlètes qui n’ont pas une bonne condition aérobie de base
  • L’intérêt de la périodisation inversée :
    • Augmenter son temps de travail à haute intensité pour renforcer les adaptations métaboliques durant une période adéquate pendant laquelle l’athlète n’enchaîne pas les compétitions qui pourrait générer une fatigue préjudiciable
    • Respect du principe de progressivité et de la gestion des ratios de charge
    • S’entraîner moins l’hiver pour s’épargner les contraintes de la mauvaise météo
    • Intéressant pour les athlètes qui n’ont pas un volume élevé à consacrer à l’entraînement durant l’hiver
    • Les athlètes qui s’entraînent sous des climats froids durant l’hiver
    • Maintenir une forte motivation pour l’entraînement
    • Réduire la monotonie des entraînements 

Avec la périodisation réversible, l’athlète se sentira plus fort et en meilleure condition à l’approche de la saison printanière. L’alliance volume/ haute intensité et du travail à allure spécifique va permettre de maintenir une intensité plus élevée avec un même niveau d’effort (objectif & subjectif).

Vous avez maintenant toutes les cartes entre vos mains pour faire votre propre choix de périodisation hivernale.

Pour aller plus loin : 

  • Bacon et al. (2013). VO2max Trainability and High Intensity Training In Humans: A Meta-Analysis.
  • Issurin V, 2010. New horizons for the methodology and physiology of training periodization.
  • Rønnestad & al, 2014. Block periodization of high-intensity aerobic intervals provides superior training effects in trained cyclists.
  • Seiler, & al, 2013. Adaptations to aerobic interval training: interactive effects of exercise intensity and total work duration.
  • Seiler, 2010. What is best practice for training intensity and duration distribution in endurance athletes?
  • Tonnessen & al, 2014. The road to gold: training and peaking characteristics in the year prior to a gold medal endurance performance.