A-Z: Training vocabulary – HIT
High Intensity Training.
These are the training sessions with intervals (ex: 10*2′ Z3_r=1′ Z1). They improve the effectiveness of your muscles in using carbohydrates, the speed at which they eliminate metabolic waste and the duration you can sustain your critical intensity. However, these sessions are also accompanied by significant nervous and muscular fatigue.– HRR
Heart Rate Recovery.
It’s a measure of your heart rate when you stop exercising: stay immobile for 1’10’’ (seated or standing, not speaking) and that’s it, your HRR is done!
This measurement reflects your nervous activity: it provides precious feedback on your state of fitness. Doing an HRR is not mandatory in Gutaï but it does provide some precision in the diagnosis.– Critical intensity
This is the highest intensity you are able to sustain over a 60′ duration. It is the basis of your training intensities. Since every detail counts, we distinguish your critical intensity according to your training conditions (indoor, outdoor, with/without slope).
To find out how to calculate it, see “How to calculate my intensities? »

– LIT
Low Intensity Training.
These are the light sessions (ex: 60′ Z1). They promote recovery since they induce low cardiovascular solicitation, few nerve and muscle constraints, carbohydrate sparing and a high fat contribution to energy production.

– Pacing
It’s a training pace equivalent to your running pace (eg. half-triathlon or marathon pace). These sessions lead to progressive fatigue and increased muscle recruitment. Their main goal is to improve your energy and mechanical efficiency.

– RPE
Rating of Perceived Exertion.
Was your training hard? Or rather light? The RPE ranges from 1 (very light) to 10 (maximum). It is to appreciate over the whole session, not just the peaks of intensity! For this, you can combine your muscular, ventilatory, cardiac and mental sensations!

Note: punctual pains (foot blisters, digestion, etc.) should not be taken into account.
In the app, several calculations are based on your RPE. Thus, be sure to complete your report after each session.

– Taper
This is the period that precedes the competition. It aims to restore a state of nervous and muscular freshness. The tapering phase can vary from a few days to several weeks depending on the importance of your competition, race distance and your training level. We calculate this for you.

– Wellness
Accessible from the Home page, it’s your morning feedback, 30 minutes after waking up: five sliders that allow you to estimate your recovery level and the influence of extra-sporting factors on you. That’s why it’s a good habit to adopt.

– Z1 / Z1i / Z1ii
We have divided your training intensities into zones (Z1, Z2, Z3, supramax) and sub-zones (Z1i and Z1ii are the sub-zones of the Z1). This distinction gives you an extra level of detail, if you need it.

Gutaï, who’s that for? For all endurance athletes who want to reach new performance targets or simply finish their next race in good conditions.
Why is Gutaï effective? Because all elements of the application are based on 3 competencies. Experience in the field, with a training philosophy established over time (20 years). Sport sciences, to determine the key parameters to analyze. Technology, in order to implement these analyses (notably via AI).
What is the purpose of AI? Several algorithms rely on artificial intelligence. For example, we identify in your training history the sessions showing strong similarities: speed, slope, temperature, etc. This allows to compare your responses and thus to watch the evolution of your fitness. This also allows us to advise you on how to intelligently readjust your current training program.
Which difference between the different subscriptions? Our formulae are evolutive: the basic formula serves as a reference for others. For example, the 14.90€/month one allows the same services as the free formula and adds supplementary options (states of form, bank of session, perf profile…). Each additional option is designed to better accompany you in your training. For details of each formula, see Our offers.
Which difference with concurrent applications? We analyze your training data for one purpose only: to understand them. Each data is cross-referenced with the others to interpret your effort, to compare your efforts over time, to make you move forward from yesterday. Currently, the amount of data available is so large that expertise is needed to analyze it. Today, Gutaï is doing this for you.
What numbers on Gutaï? 2 modules: 1 module for Athletes, 1 module for Coaches.
5.13%: average performance gain for athletes trained by Gutaï.
10x less time spent by a coach managing the training of his/her athletes (design and analysis of sessions).
1. The only application to put you in perspective: your performance today depends on your training yesterday and guides tomorrow’s training. That’s what “training” is.
How to daily use the app? Completely naturally… In the morning, take 20” to complete your Wellness. Go and train with your usual gear (cardio, GPS, power meter…). After training, indicate your RPE in the session report. Nothing more! Gutaï does the rest: session analysis, fitness monitoring, weekly reports, performance profile, comparison of sessions…
Why is my Wellness no longer modifiable once filled? Your sensations of tiredness, mood, stress… change during the day according to your activities, that’s why we need to record your impressions only once: after waking up.
How to access a session report? If you have carried out your training with a connected watch, it is very simple. Once the session is completed, your data synchronizes with Gutaï and you receive a notification on your smartphone (if it is not switched off in Menu > Preferences).
If you didn’t have a watch during your session, then go through the Home page or your Calendar to access the report (see below).
How to calculate my intensities? Your training intensities are calculated according to your critical intensity. To determine it, 4 means exist:
The easiest: synchronize your data with Gutaï. The app will then access your last 30 days of training to calculate your intensities. However, these 30 days do not necessarily reflect your full potential…
The basis: for the cycling and running disciplines, complete a maximum stress test of 5′ and another one of 20′. For swimming, carry out a test on 400m and another on 800m.
Intermediate: in addition to the previous tests, perform a maximum test of 60′ for the bike, 45′ for the run and 1500m for swimming. These tests are used to validate/adjust the critical intensity value from previous tests.
The most efficient: perform the previous tests under the following conditions: flat, uphill and hometrainer for the bike; flat, uphill and treadmill for running; 25m, 50m and open water for swimming. These tests allow you to customize your intensities according to your training conditions.
Note: whatever the method, Gutaï automatically detects your test phases in the session. All you have to do is perform, we’ll do the analysis.
Why are these intensities effective? Simply because they correspond to your own previously realized performances (that is, they are the real ones) and are distinguished according to your own training conditions (eg. for the bike: flat vs. uphill vs. hometrainer).
What is the « bank of sessions »? We have made available to you more than 500 endurance training sessions (swimming, cycling, running) ranging from low intensity to interval sessions, including pacing and tapering sessions. Your role: filter your choices, select your session, drag/drop the session onto your calendar. The calculation of the intensities is then automatic according to your critical intensity.
What is « monitoring » ? It is the follow-up of your fundamental training data: mileage, volume, intensities… We have enriched this follow-up with recommended analyses of sport sciences in order to provide you with useful “weekly reports” to adjust your training program.
What is the « performance profile » ? It’s a curve that shows your best performances by duration, from 10” to several hours. It gives indications of your strengths and weaknesses. For example, in cycling, a continuous decrease in your power over a 1-hour effort suggests orienting your training program on pacing sessions to improve your riding skills.
How is my training load calculated? By first multiplying the session duration to your RPE (e. g. 90′ x 6 = 540 AU) and then summing up the AU over the week. Indeed, the training load is to assess weekly to detect periods that could place the athlete at risk (overload, de-training, injury). We interpret that for you in “Weekly reports”.
Does Gutaï work if I don’t have a watch? Yes. You are simply limited in its use. For example, you can complete your Wellness, receive recommendations and indicate your RPE to calculate your training load. On the other hand, complex analyses based on your training intensities will lack data to operate (Gutaï intensity, fitness levels, performance profile, intensities distribution…).
What features for tomorrow? In preparation in Gutaï: performance prediction functionality based on your performance profile; fully automated training to adapt your program to your fitness level; new training programs, in trail and running; and still more meaning / link between features.

A-Z : vocabulaire de l’entraînement HIT
High Intensity Training, ou entraînement à haute intensité.
Ce sont les entraînements avec des intervalles (ex : 10*2’ Z3_r=1’ Z1). Ils améliorent l’efficacité de votre muscles à utiliser les glucides, la vitesse à éliminer les déchets musculaires ainsi que la durée à soutenir votre intensité critique. Cependant, ces séances s’accompagnent aussi d’une fatigue nerveuse et musculaire importante.

HRR
Heart Rate Recovery, ou fréquence cardiaque de récupération.
C’est une mesure de votre fréquence cardiaque à l’arrêt de l’exercice : restez immobile sur place durant 1’10’’ (assis ou debout, sans parler), et voilà, votre HRR est fait !
Cette mesure reflète votre activité nerveuse : elle donne de précieuses informations sur votre état de forme. Faire un HRR n’est pas indispensable dans Gutaï mais il apporte de la précision dans le diagnostic.

– Intensité critique
C’est l’intensité la plus élevée que vous êtes capable de soutenir sur une durée de 60’. Elle est à la base de vos intensités d’entraînement. Puisque chaque détail compte, nous distinguons votre intensité critique selon vos conditions d’entraînement (indoor, outdoor, avec/sans dénivelé).
Pour savoir comment la calculer, voir « Comment calculer mes intensités ? »

– LIT
Low Intensity Training, ou entraînement à basse intensité.
Ce sont les séances légères (ex : 60’ Z1). Elles favorisent la récupération car elles induisent une faible sollicitation cardiovasculaire, peu de contraintes nerveuses et musculaires, une épargne des glucides et une forte contribution des lipides dans la production d’énergie.

– Pacing
C’est une allure d’entraînement équivalente à votre allure de course (ex : une allure half-triathlon ou une allure marathon). Ces séances entraînent une fatigue progressive et une augmentation croissante du recrutement musculaire. Leur but principal est d’améliorer votre rendement énergétique et mécanique.

– RPE
Rating of Perceived Exertion, ou la perception de l’effort de votre séance.
Votre entraînement était-il dur ? Ou plutôt léger ? Le RPE se côte entre 1 (« très très léger ») et 10 (« maximal »). Il s’estime sur l’ensemble de la séance, pas seulement les pics d’intensité ! Pour cela, vous pouvez combiner vos sensations musculaires, ventilatoires, cardiaques et mentales !

À noter : les douleurs ponctuelles (ampoule au pied, digestion…) ne doivent pas être prises en compte.
Dans l’appli, plusieurs calculs s’appuient sur votre RPE. N’oubliez donc pas de remplir votre compte-rendu après chaque séance.

Taper ou affûtage
C’est la période qui précède la compétition. Elle a pour but de rétablir un état de fraîcheur nerveuse et musculaire. L’affûtage peut varier de quelques jours à plusieurs semaines selon l’importance de votre compétition, la distance et votre niveau d’entraînement. Nous calculons cela pour vous.

Wellness
Accessible depuis la page d’Accueil, c’est votre feedback du matin 30’ après votre réveil : cinq curseurs qui permettent d’estimer votre niveau de récupération et l’influence de facteurs extra-sportifs sur vous. C’est pourquoi il s’agit d’une bonne habitude à prendre,.

– Z1 / Z1i / Z1ii
Nous avons divisé vos intensités d’entraînement en zones (Z1, Z2, Z3, supramax) puis en sous-zones (Z1i et Z1ii sont les sous-zones de la Z1). Cette distinction vous donne un degré de détail supplémentaire, si vous en avez besoin.

GUTAÏ : c’est pour qui ? Pour tous les sportifs d’endurance qui souhaitent atteindre de nouveaux objectifs de performance ou simplement terminer leur prochaine course dans de bonnes conditions.
Pourquoi GUTAÏ est efficace ? Car tous les éléments de l’application s’appuient sur 3 compétences. L’expérience du terrain, avec une philosophie d’entraînement éprouvée sur la durée (20 ans). Les sciences du sport, pour déterminer les paramètres-clé à analyser. La technologie, afin de mettre en œuvre ces analyses (notamment via l’IA).
À quoi sert l’Intelligence Artificielle ? Plusieurs algorithmes s’appuient sur de l’intelligence artificielle. Par exemple, nous identifions dans votre historique d’entraînement les séances montrant de fortes similarités : vitesse, pente, température, etc. Cela permet de comparer vos réponses et donc de voir l’évolution de votre état de forme. C’est aussi ce qui nous permet de vous conseiller pour réajuster intelligemment votre programme d’entraînement du moment.
Quelle différence entre les différents abonnements ? Nos formules sont évolutives : la formule de base sert de référence aux autres. Par exemple, celle à 14,90€ /mois autorise les mêmes services que la formule gratuite et ajoute des options supplémentaires (états de forme, banque de séances, profil de perf…). Chaque option en plus vise à mieux vous accompagner dans votre entraînement. Pour le détail de chaque formule, voir Les tarifs.
Quelle différence avec les applis concurrentes ? Nous analysons vos données d’entraînement dans un seul but : les comprendre. Chaque donnée est croisée avec les autres pour interpréter votre effort, pour comparer vos efforts à travers le temps, pour vous faire avancer par rapport à hier. À l’heure actuelle, la quantité de données disponibles est si importante qu’une expertise devient nécessaire pour les analyser. Aujourd’hui, Gutaï fait cela pour vous.
Quels chiffres sur GUTAÏ ? 2 modules : 1 module pour les Athlètes, 1 module pour les Coachs.
5.13% : gain de performance moyen chez les athlètes entraînés par Gutaï.
10x moins de temps passé par un coach à gérer l’entraînement de ses athlètes (conception et analyse des séances).
1. La seule application à vous mettre « en perspective » : votre performance d’aujourd’hui dépend de votre entraînement d’hier et oriente celui de demain. C’est cela « entraîner ».
Comment utiliser l’appli au quotidien ? De façon complètement naturelle… Le matin, prenez 20’’ pour compléter votre Wellness. Partez vous entraîner avec votre matériel habituel (cardio, GPS, capteur de puissance…). Après l’entraînement, indiquez votre RPE dans le compte-rendu de séance. Rien de plus ! Gutaï fait le reste : analyse de séance, suivi de vos états de forme, bilans hebdomadaires, profil de performance, comparaison de séances…
Pourquoi mon Wellness n’est plus modifiable après l’avoir rempli ? Vos sensations de fatigue, humeur, stress… évoluent durant la journée en fonction de vos activités, c’est pourquoi nous souhaitons enregistrer vos impressions une seule fois : après le réveil.
Comment accéder à un compte-rendu de séance ? Si vous avez réalisé votre entraînement avec une montre connectée, c’est très simple. Une fois la séance terminée, vos données se synchronisent avec Gutaï et vous recevez une notification sur votre smartphone (si celle-ci n’est pas désactivée dans Menu > Préférences).
Si vous n’aviez pas de montre pendant votre séance, alors passez par la page d’Accueil ou votre Calendrier pour accéder au compte-rendu (voir ci-dessous).
Comment calculer mes intensités ? Vos intensités d’entraînement sont calculées à partir de votre intensité critique. Pour déterminer celle-ci, 4 moyens existent :
Le plus simple : synchronisez vos données avec Gutaï. L’appli accède alors à vos 30 derniers jours d’entraînement pour calculer vos intensités. Cependant, ces 30 jours ne reflètent pas forcément tout votre potentiel…
La base : pour les disciplines vélo et course à pied, réalisez un test d’effort maximal sur 5’ et un autre sur 20’. Pour la natation, réalisez un test sur 400m et un autre sur 800m.
L’intermédiaire : en plus des tests précédents, réalisez 1 test maximal de 60’ pour le vélo, de 45’ pour la course et de 1500m pour la natation. Ces tests permettent de valider/ajuster la valeur d’intensité critique issue des tests précédents.
Le plus efficace : réalisez les tests précédents dans les conditions suivantes : plat, montée et hometrainer pour le vélo ; plat, montée et tapis roulant pour la course ; 25m, 50m et eau libre pour la natation. Ces tests permettent d’individualiser vos intensités selon vos conditions d’entraînement.
À noter : quelle que soit la méthode, Gutaï détecte automatiquement vos phases de test dans la séance. Vous n’avez qu’à performer, nous faisons l’analyse.
Pourquoi ces intensités sont-elles efficaces ? Tout simplement car elles correspondent à vos propres performances réalisées précédemment (elles sont donc véritables) et qu’elles sont distinguées selon vos conditions d’entraînement (ex. pour le vélo : plat vs montée vs hometrainer).
C’est quoi la « banque de séances » ? Nous avons mis à votre disposition plus de 500 séances d’entraînement en endurance (natation, vélo, course à pied) allant de la basse intensité aux séances d’intervalles en passant par des séances de pacing ou encore d’affûtage. Votre rôle : filtrez vos choix, sélectionnez votre séance, glissez la séance sur votre calendrier. Le calcul des intensités est alors automatique par rapport à votre intensité critique.
C’est quoi le « monitoring » ? C’est le suivi de vos données fondamentales d’entraînement : kilométrage, volume, intensités… Nous avons enrichi ce suivi avec des analyses recommandées des sciences du sport afin de vous délivrer des « Bilans hebdomadaires » utiles pour ajuster votre programme d’entraînement.
C’est quoi le « profil de performance » ? C’est une courbe qui retrace vos meilleures performances par durée, de 10’’ à plusieurs heures. Elle donne des indications sur vos forces et vos faiblesses. Par exemple, à vélo, une baisse continue de votre puissance sur des efforts supérieurs à 1h suggère d’orienter votre programme d’entraînement sur des séances de pacing pour améliorer vos qualités de rouleur.
Comment est calculée ma charge d’entraînement ? En multipliant d’abord la durée de la séance à votre RPE (ex : 90’ x 6 = 540 UA) puis en faisant la somme des UA sur la semaine. En effet, la charge d’entraînement s’évalue de façon hebdomadaire afin de détecter des périodes qui pourraient placer l’athlète dans des situations à risque (surcharge, désentraînement, blessure). Nous faisons l’interprétation pour vous dans « Bilans hebdomadaires ».
Gutaï fonctionne-t-elle si je n’ai pas de montre ? Oui. Vous êtes simplement limité dans son usage. Par exemple, vous pouvez compléter votre Wellness, recevoir des recommandations et indiquer votre RPE pour calculer votre charge d’entraînement. En revanche, les analyses complexes basées sur vos intensités d’entraînement manqueront de données pour fonctionner (Gutaï intensity, état de forme, profil de performance, distribution des intensités…).
Quelles fonctionnalités pour demain ? En préparation dans GUTAÏ : la fonctionnalité de prédiction de la performance à partir de votre profil de performance ; l’entraînement complétement automatisé pour adapter votre programme à votre état de forme ; de nouveaux programmes d’entraînement, en trail et running ; la version Androïd de Gutaï ; la synchronisation avec Polar, Suunto…