Endurance training: which role for proteins?

A protein intake in addition to a carbohydrate intake is important following an intense endurance effort. This is known from several studies that have compared it to a simple intake of carbohydrates. Why is it effective? The muscle’s immune and inflammatory response to exercise is then improved, which limits the onset of muscle damage and pain.

 

Illustration with a study1: Post-exercise ingestion of carbohydrates + protein (0.8g per kg per hour of carbohydrates + 0.4g.kg.h of protein) improved tomorrow’s performance compared to ingestion of carbohydrates alone (1.2g.kg.h): ~63min vs. 50min on a 72% VO2max exhaustion test.

Despite this positive finding, the effects of repeated intake of carbohydrates + proteins are still poorly known during an intense training period – even though this is precisely the type of program athletes endure…

Prot2

PROTEINS…HELP!!

These periods of intensive training impose unusual physiological stress on the body. Therefore, the challenge of a better tolerance of the body to overload thanks to an adapted nutritional plan will be to limit this stress to facilitate the recovery phase in-between training sessions. So why are these proteins so important?

nutrition protéines période de surcharge– Firstly because a carbohydrate intake only does not stop the protein breakdown initiated during exercise, even if the recommendations are followed (for info: 1.2g.kg.h of carbohydrates for ~3-4h as soon as exercise stops, then 8-9g.kg spread over the rest of the day).

– Then because the difference between the protein ‘degradation’ and ‘synthesis’ is ~5g per hour of exercise (and more if the carbohydrate level is low). The protein balance thus quickly becomes negative in the event of prolonged effort, which then leads directly to the degradation of amino acids (ie. proteins that structure muscle (leucine, valine, alanine, glutamate) to produce energy.

 

1, 2, 3 POINTS.

Today, if we make the count on studies that have looked at the benefits of using protein + carbohydrates on endurance performance in periods of overload (compared to carbohydrates alone), the results are inconsistent. Benefit? No effect? To be continued… But having said that, several points still deserve to be raised.

1- First a quantitative point.

There is a dose-response relationship between protein intake and performance: this means that intake must be proportional to increased training load to produce results. Look why:

– In a first study2, +104g protein per day (3.0 g.kg.d) reduced the performance decline of trained cyclists after 7 days of overload compared to a control diet (1.5 g.kg.d).

– However, in another study3, ~67g.d of protein was insufficient to improve performance after 10 days of overload compared to a carbohydrate drink.

This ‘dose-response’ phenomenon is therefore noticeable in trained individuals. But it also depends on the basic nutritional diet! Indeed, a carbohydrate + protein diet will have more effects in individuals whose usual protein intakes are low (<~1g.kg.j). In the same logic, the reverse is also true: a protein ceiling exists so that proteins ingested in excess of the body’s ability to assimilate them are no longer stored but oxidized.

 

2- Then a qualitative point.

It must be known that protein synthesis decreases when one is at exercise (by ~40% after 2 hours of exercise at low intensity). But things are reversed in recovery: protein synthesis is reactivated to meet the needs of energy response and muscle restructuring. This reactivation is then opportune to assimilate more effectively the nutrients provided: we talk about a “metabolic window” which is ideal in the 30′ post-exercise and then dissipates in the 2h. You can see that this window is particularly interesting when 2 trainings are performed a few hours apart.

Always in a concern to optimize recovery, protein synthesis is maximized by the combined intake of carbohydrates + protein + leucine. This effect is certainly due to a higher concentration of plasma insulin which inhibits proteolysis. Therefore, leucine supplementation (e.g. parmesan, soy, cooked tuna/hen/beef, peanuts) of ~0.1g.kg.h is advisable when overloading. On the other hand, protein supplementation loses a lot of its benefits when it is no longer combined with carbohydrate intake !

 

3- Finally a physiological point.

At the level of the body, we notice an increase in the volume of plasma (in the blood) following a prolonged supplementation in carbohydrates + proteins. This is not observed under carbohydrate alone conditions (certainly due to the increase in plasma albumin concentration, favourable to water retention). This plasma expansion will have a positive impact on:

Systolic ejection volume: an increase in the amount of blood sent at every heartbeat;

Temperature regulation: greater vascularization of the cutaneous vessels = better dissipation of heat from the body to the environment = lower rise in internal temperature during exercise = lower risk of overheating.

In addition to this vascular effect, a protein equilibrium during periods of overload has a positive influence on muscle morphology and function by:

– Limiting muscle strain during exercise and reducing muscle volume after overload (a phenomenon frequently observed in endurance athletes);

– Stimulating protein synthesis, which helps maintain or even increase strength qualities.

 

Protéines 3WHAT ELSE?

Today, when we talk about protein and training, an average recommendation is to recommend ~20g of protein in recovery if the training has been intense. What we know less is that a moderate intake (>10g) is also recommended 30′ before bedtime in order to preserve the protein balance during the night (since we don’t have any more intake for several hours!). In the same logic, a moderate protein intake is recommended as soon as you get up.

During the day, endurance athletes are therefore advised to eat an average of at least 1.5-1.7g.kg of protein. In terms of the nature of the proteins ingested, it is less precise: it does not seem to influence the performance response. However, we now know that it is preferable to opt for animal proteins rather than vegetable proteins because of their digestibility and their higher leucine content.

To go further: 1Rustad et al. 2016 ; 2Witard et al. 2011 ; 3D’Lugos et al. 2016

Entraînement en endurance : quel rôle pour les protéines ?

Un apport en protéines en complément d’un apport en glucides est important suite à un effort d’endurance intense. On le sait grâce à plusieurs études qui ont effectué la comparaison avec un apport simple de glucides. Pourquoi c’est efficace ? Car la réponse immunitaire et inflammatoire du muscle à l’exercice est alors améliorée, ce qui limite l’installation de dommages et douleurs musculaires.

 

Illustration avec une étude1 : l’ingestion post-exercice de glucides + protéines (0.8g par kg par heure de glucides + 0.4g.kg.h de protéines) a amélioré la performance du lendemain comparativement à l’ingestion de glucides seuls (1.2g.kg.h) : ~63min vs. ~50min sur un test à l’épuisement à 72% de VO2max.

Malgré ce constat positif, les effets de l’ingestion répétée de glucides + protéines sont encore mal connus dans le cadre d’une période intense d’entraînement – alors que c’est précisément le type de programme qu’endurent les athlètes…

Prot2

PROTÉINES… HELP !!

Ces périodes d’entraînement intensif imposent à l’organisme un stress physiologique inhabituel. Du coup, l’enjeu d’une meilleure tolérance de l’organisme à la surcharge grâce à un plan nutritionnel adapté, ce sera de limiter ce stress pour faciliter la phase de récupération inter-entraînements. Pourquoi ces protéines sont-elles donc si importantes ?

nutrition protéines période de surcharge– D’abord car un apport seulement en glucides ne stoppe pas la dégradation protéique amorcée à l’exercice, même en suivant bien les recommandations (pour info : 1.2g.kg.h de glucides pendant ~3-4h dès l’arrêt de l’effort, puis 8-9g.kg étalés sur le reste de la journée).

– Ensuite car la différence entre ‘dégradation’ et ‘synthèse’ protéique est de ~5g par heure d’exercice (et plus si le niveau en glucides est faible). Le bilan protéique devient donc vite négatif en cas d’effort prolongé, ce qui conduit alors directement à la dégradation d’acides aminés (ie. les protéines qui structurent du muscle : leucine, valine, alanine, glutamate) pour produire de l’énergie.

 

1, 2, 3 POINTS.

Aujourd’hui, si on fait le compte sur les études qui ont regardé les bénéfices d’utiliser des protéines + glucides sur la performance d’endurance en période de surcharge (par rapport aux glucides seuls), les résultats sont inconsistants. Bénéfice ? Effet nul ? À suivre… Mais ceci étant dit, plusieurs points méritent quand même d’être soulevés.

1- D’abord un point quantitatif.

On observe une relation de dose-réponse entre l’apport en protéines et la performance : cela signifie que l’apport doit être proportionnel à l’augmentation de la charge d’entraînement pour entraîner des résultats. Regardez pourquoi :

– Dans une première étude2, +104g de protéine par jour (soit 3.0 g.kg.j) a permis de réduire le déclin de performance de cyclistes entraînés après 7 jours de surcharge comparativement à un régime contrôle (1.5g.kg.j).

– En revanche, dans une autre étude3, ~67g.j de protéine s’est montré insuffisant pour améliorer la performance après 10j de surcharge comparativement à une boisson en glucides.

Ce phénomène de ‘dose-réponse’ est donc notable chez des individus entraînés. Mais il dépend aussi du régime nutritionnel de base ! En effet, un régime glucides + protéines aura plus d’effets chez les individus dont les apports protéiques habituels sont peu élevés (<~1g.kg.j). Dans la même logique, l’inverse est aussi valable : un plafonnement protéique existe de sorte que les protéines ingérées en excès de la capacité de l’organisme à les assimiler ne sont plus stockées mais oxydées.

 

2- Ensuite un point qualitatif.

Il faut savoir que la synthèse protéique baisse quand on est à l’exercice (de ~40% après 2h d’exercice à intensité basse). Mais les choses s’inversent en récupération : la protéosynthèse se réactive pour répondre aux besoins de réplétion énergétique et de restructuration musculaire. Cette réactivation est alors opportune pour assimiler plus efficacement les nutriments apportés : on parle d’une « fenêtre métabolique » idéale dans les 30′ post-exercice qui se dissipe ensuite dans les 2h. Vous le voyez donc, cette fenêtre a un intérêt particulier quand 2 entraînements sont réalisés à quelques heures d’intervalle.

Toujours dans un souci d’optimisation de la récupération, la synthèse protéique est maximisée par l’ingestion combinée de glucides + protéines + leucine. Cet effet est certainement dû à une plus grande concentration du plasma en insuline qui inhibe la protéolyse. En conséquence, une supplémentation en leucine (eg. parmesan, soja, thon/poulet/bœuf cuits, cacahuètes) de ~0.1g.kg.h peut être recommandée lors d’une surcharge. Par contre, la supplémentation en protéines perd beaucoup de ses bénéfices dès lors qu’elle n’est plus combinée à l’ingestion de glucides !

 

3- Enfin un point physiologique.

ŸAu niveau de l’organisme, on remarque une augmentation du volume du plasma (dans le sang) suite à une supplémentation prolongée en glucides + protéines. Ceci n’est pas observé en condition de glucides seuls (certainement en raison de l’augmentation de la concentration en albumine plasmatique, favorable à la rétention d’eau). Cette expansion plasmatique va avoir des répercussions positives sur :

Le volume d’éjection systolique : une hausse de la quantité de sang envoyée à chaque battement de cœur ;

La thermorégulation : plus grande vascularisation des vaisseaux cutanés = meilleure dissipation de la chaleur du corps vers l’environnement = moindre élévation de la température interne à l’exercice = moindre risque de surchauffe.

En plus de cet effet vasculaire, un équilibre protéique en période de surcharge influence positivement la morphologie et la fonction musculaire en :

– Limitant les déchirures musculaires à l’exercice ainsi que la réduction du volume musculaire après la surcharge (un phénomène fréquemment observé chez l’athlète d’endurance) ;

– Stimulant la synthèse protéique, ce qui permet le maintien voire l’augmentation des qualités de force.

 

Protéines 3MAIS ENCORE ?

Aujourd’hui, quand on parle de protéines et d’entraînement, une recommandation moyenne consiste à préconiser ~20g de protéines en récupération si l’entraînement a été intense. Ce qu’on sait moins, c’est qu’un apport modéré (>10g) est aussi recommandé 30′ avant le coucher afin de préserver l’équilibre protéique pendant la nuit (et oui, on n’a plus d’apport pendant plusieurs heures !). Dans la même logique, un apport modéré en protéines est recommandé dès le lever.

Sur la journée, on conseille ainsi aux sportifs d’endurance en période de charge une moyenne d’au moins 1,5-1,7g.kg de protéines. Pour ce qui est de la nature des protéines ingérées, c’est moins précis : elle ne semble pas influer sur la réponse de performance. Toutefois, on sait aujourd’hui qu’il est préférable d’opter pour les protéines animales plutôt que végétales en raison de leur digestibilité et de leur contenu supérieur en leucine.

Pour aller plus loin : 1Rustad et al. 2016 ; 2Witard et al. 2011 ; 3D’Lugos et al. 2016