Carbohydrates Folder #4

As an extension of the Train-Low regime, a new strategy has recently emerged to allow adaptations of the Train-Low without suffering its negative effects, namely the Sleep-Low protocol.

 

THE SLEEP-LOW STRATEGY.

This nutritional strategy is divided into 2 training periods spread over 2 consecutive days: the 1st training session is performed at high intensity (HIT) and takes place on the 1st day (D1); the 2nd session is performed fasting and at low intensity the next day (D2). Here is the unwound:

D1 – step 1: enjoy a little more of your calories… You might miss them.

D1 – step 2: at the end of the day, perform a HIT session (>106% of your critical power/speed) of type 9*3′ / r 1’30”:

D1 – step 3: do not ingest carbohydrates after the session, neither in liquid nor solid form. Here is an idea for dinner: salad, cucumbers, radishes, meat, cheese, dark chocolate (>90%). Then before bedtime: a glass of milk, yoghurt or cottage cheese ;

D2 – step 1: do a 30′ to 60′ fasting session at low intensity (<75% CP/CV). You can then opt for a 30′ coffee before the session to increase your fat use.

D2 – step 2: Breakfast is completely normal, without any restrictions.

 

WHICH PERFORMANCE GAINS?

By using Sleep-Low 3x per week for 3 weeks, some research protocols have been able to observe :

– A gain of ~73” over a 10km-run in well trained triathletes (60-65ml.kg.min in VO2max).
– An improvement in the energy cost during exercise at a submax intensity.
– An improvement in time-to-exhaustion at supra-max speed.
– A change in body composition (~1kg of fat mass lost without change in lean mass).

For this weight loss to be done specifically on fat mass, it is important to have a protein intake during low-carb dinners and before bedtime. In addition to maintaining your lean mass, this will repair your muscles, support the energy cost of this repair, and promote the synthesis of mitochondria (the energy factories of your muscles).

 

THE SLEEP-LOW IN PRACTICE.

In GUTAÏ, we have tested this protocol with the amateur triathletes we train and who essentially prepare 70.3 and IM events. With an active family and professional life, it is difficult to place 3 SleepLow sessions each week for 3 weeks. Moreover, it is complicated to reconcile a preparation focused on long duration events (>4h) by including 3 HIT sessions per week plus specific pacing sessions, the whole without generating an increase in the athlete’s fatigue level.

Since our idea is to offer practical solutions while being effective, we opt instead for a mixed and “periodized” approach of this strategy. We use the different diets available (High Carb, Low-Carb, Train-Low, Sleep-Low…) by placing them at the right time in the athlete’s preparation in order to take full advantage of them. The 2.0 training programs are made that way. Examples :

– High carbohydrate intakes during specific long distance training sessions including pacing phases to allow the athlete to sustain exercise intensity and train their stomach/intestines to the nutritional strategy that will be used during competition. Carbohydrate intake: 60g per hour for efforts <4h ; 90g.h for efforts >4h.

– Restricted intakes before, during and/or after low intensity training to enhance the chemistry of the training stimulus while limiting unwanted effects.

– 1x/ week use of the Sleep-Low protocol

– The use 1 to 2x/ week of the Train-Low with bi-daily trainings.

With this approach, the feedback we have from our athletes is positive and especially the improvement in performance is there.
You now have the keys to integrate the Sleep-Low in your preparation.

 

References for further information:
Hawley JA, Burke LM. Carbohydrate availability and training adaptation: effects on cell metabolism. Exerc Sport Sci Rev. 38(4):152-60, 2010.
LA Marquet & al. Enhanced endurance performance by periodization of CHO intake:“sleep low” strategy. Med Sci Sports. 2016.

Nutrition : enlever le sucre certains soirs…


 

Dans le prolongement du régime Train-Low, une nouvelle stratégie a récemment vu le jour pour autoriser les adaptations du Train-Low sans souffrir de ses effets négatifs, il s’agit du protocole Sleep-Low.

 

LA STRATÉGIE SLEEP-LOW.

Cette stratégie nutritionnelle est découpée en 2 périodes d’entraînement réparties sur 2 jours consécutifs : la 1ère séance d’entraînement est réalisée à haute intensité (HIT) et se déroule le 1er jour (J1) ; la 2ème séance est réalisée à jeun et à basse intensité le lendemain (J2). Voici le déroulé :

J1 – étape 1 : profitez encore un peu de vos calories en plus… Elles pourraient vous manquer.

J1 – étape 2 : en fin de journée, réalisez une séance HIT (>106% de votre puissance/vitesse critique) du type 9*3’ / r 1’30’’ :

 

 

J1 – étape 3 :  n’ingérez pas de glucides après la séance, ni sous forme liquide, ni solide. Voici alors une idée de diner : salade, concombres, radis, viande, fromage, chocolat noir (>90%). Puis avant le coucher : un verre de lait, un yaourt ou fromage blanc ;

J2 – étape 1 : réalisez une séance de 30’ à 60’ à jeun et à basse intensité (<75% CP/CV). Vous pouvez alors opter pour un café 30′ avant la séance afin d’accroitre votre utilisation des graisses.

 

 

J2 – étape 2 : petit-déjeunez de façon complètement normale, sans restriction aucune.

 

QUELS GAINS DE PERFORMANCE ?

En utilisant le Sleep-Low 3x par semaine durant 3 semaines, certains protocoles de recherche ont pu observer :

– Un gain de ~73’’ sur 10km de course à pieds chez des triathlètes bien entraînés (60-65ml.kg.min en VO2max).
– Une amélioration du coût énergétique à l’exercice à une intensité sous-max.
– Une amélioration du temps de soutien à allure supra-max.
– Une modification de la composition corporelle (~1kg de masse grasse perdu sans changement de la masse maigre).

Pour que cette perte de poids soit faite spécifiquement sur la masse grasse, il est important d’avoir un apport en protéines lors des diners low-carb et avant le coucher. En plus de maintenir votre masse maigre, cela permettra de réparer vos muscles, supporter le coût énergétique de cette réparation, et favoriser la synthèse de mitochondries (les usines énergétiques de vos muscles).

 

 

LE SLEEP-LOW EN PRATIQUE.

Chez GUTAÏ, nous avons pu tester ce protocole auprès des triathlètes amateurs que nous entraînons et qui préparent essentiellement des épreuves 70.3 et IM. Avec une vie familiale et professionnelle active, il est difficile de placer 3 sessions de SleepLow chaque semaine durant 3 semaines. De plus, il s’avère compliqué de concilier une préparation axée sur des épreuves de longue durée (>4h) en incluant 3 séances HIT par semaine, plus des séances de pacing spécifique, le tout sans engendrer une élévation du niveau de fatigue de l’athlète.

Puisque notre idée est d’offrir des solutions pratiques tout en étant efficaces, nous optons plutôt pour une approche mixte et « périodisée » de cette stratégie. Nous utilisons les différents régimes à disposition (High-Carb, Low-Carb, Train-Low, Sleep-Low…) en les plaçant au bon moment dans la préparation de l’athlète afin d’en tirer tous les bénéfices. Les programmes d’entraînement 2.0 sont ainsi faits. Exemples :

– Des apports importants en glucides pendant les séances d’entraînement spécifiques longue-distance incluant des phases de pacing pour permettre à l’athlète de soutenir l’intensité d’exercice et entraîner son estomac/intestins à la stratégie nutritionnelle qui sera employée durant la compétition. Apport des glucides : 60g par heure pour des efforts <4h ; 90g.h pour des efforts >4h.

– Des apports restreints avant, pendant et/ou après un entraînement à basse intensité dans le but d’accentuer la chimie du stimulus d’entraînement tout en limitant les effets non-désirés.

– L’utilisation 1x/ semaine du protocole Sleep-Low

– L’utilisation 1 à 2x/ semaine du Train-Low avec des entraînements bi-quotidien.

Avec cette approche, les retours que nous avons de nos athlètes sont positifs et surtout l’amélioration des performances est au rendez-vous.
Vous avez maintenant les clés pour intégrer le Sleep-Low dans votre préparation.

 

Références pour aller plus loin :
Hawley JA, Burke LM. Carbohydrate availability and training adaptation: effects on cell metabolism. Exerc Sport Sci Rev. 38(4):152-60, 2010.
LA Marquet & al. Enhanced endurance performance by periodization of CHO intake:“sleep low” strategy. Med Sci Sports. 2016.