Carbohydrate Folder #3


 

In this 3rd part of the dossier on Carbohydrates, we discuss the Train-Low diet. Not to confuse with a low intensity session or an altitude training camp. Here we talk about a “nutritional” manipulation that maximizes the effects of training to improve performance in endurance sports.

 

THE TRAIN-LOW IN THEORY.

The aim of this diet is to promote the use of fats, improve energy efficiency and increase the activity of oxidative enzymes. Only mechanisms that refer to the energy chain of endurance: the more these mechanisms are developed, the more endurance performance is important.

An occasional use of this diet can be accompanied by an improvement in performance on long events. Example: You use your fat more effectively during exercise, which allows you to save carbohydrates. This sparing allows you to use them through a higher intensity of exercise, if you decide to increase the pace. However this diet also has its drawbacks: a carbohydrate deprivation of several days to several weeks can result in:

– A loss of efficiency of your muscles to use carbohydrates. You burn them more slowly. This results in an inability to sustain intensities as high as usual.

– A greater degradation of the lean mass of your body (your muscles). In fact, your body compensates for the lack of carbohydrates by other energy sources available: the proteins located in your muscles. So you lose your qualities of strength.

– A disturbance of your immune system, which increases the possibility of getting sick (see more). Logical impact: the inability to maintain the planned training program.

– A higher level of fatigue, linked to all the changes that allow your body to adapt to this diet. In practical terms, you need more time to recover.

 

THE TRAIN-LOW IN PRACTICE.

It consists of a deprivation (or at least a restriction) of carbohydrates at the hours that surround the training, you know that now. Different scenarios then exist. We recommend the following:

– A low intensity training session carried out under fasting conditions and lasting from 30′ to 60′. Simple and quite effective.

– A long workout without carbohydrate intake. Note that in this case, an electrolyte intake will be important to compensate for the mineral deficit induced by sweat losses. In addition, a caffeine intake may promote the use of fats that will then serve as fuel during exercise.

– Limit carbohydrate intake throughout the day until training, prioritizing fat and protein.

– The bi-daily session: a 1st session performed at low intensity (possibly fasting) whose aim will be to degrade part of the carbohydrate reserves. Following this session, limit/delete all carbohydrate intake. Carry out a 2nd training session a few hours after the 1st, this one being ideally carried out at high intensity in order to hammer the nail on the use of sugars (cf. example below).

Dossier Glucides #3


 

Dans cette 3ème partie du dossier sur les Glucides, on aborde le régime Train-Low. À ne pas confondre avec une séance à basse intensité ou un stage en altitude. Ici on parle d’une manipulation « nutritionnelle » qui permet de maximiser les effets de l’entraînement pour améliorer la performance dans les sports d’endurance.

 

LE TRAIN-LOW EN THÉORIE.

Le but de ce régime est de promouvoir l’utilisation des graisses, d’améliorer le rendement énergétique et d’augmenter l’activité des enzymes oxydatives. Que des mécanismes qui font référence à la filière énergétique de l’endurance : plus ces mécanismes sont développés, plus la performance d’endurance est importante.

Une utilisation ponctuelle de ce régime peut s’accompagner d’une amélioration des performances sur des épreuves de longue durée. Exemple : vous utilisez plus efficacement vos lipides à l’exercice ce qui vous permet d’économiser vos glucides. Cette économie vous permet de les utiliser à travers une plus haute intensité d’exercice, si vous décidez d’augmenter l’allure. Toutefois ce régime a aussi ses revers : une privation en glucides de plusieurs jours à plusieurs semaines peut résulter en :

– Une perte d’efficacité de vos muscles à utiliser les glucides. Vous les bruler moins rapidement. Cela se traduit à l’exercice par une incapacité à soutenir des intensités aussi élevées que d’habitude.

– Une plus grande dégradation de la masse maigre de votre corps (vos muscles). En effet, votre corps compense le manque de glucides par d’autres sources d’énergie disponibles : les protéines situées dans vos muscles. Vous perdez donc vos qualités de force.

– Une perturbation de votre système immunitaire, ce qui accroît la possibilité de tomber malade (voir plus). Répercussion logique : l’incapacité à tenir le programme d’entraînement prévu.

– Un niveau de fatigue plus important, lié à tous les changements qui permettent l’adaptation de votre organisme à ce régime. Concrètement, il vous faut plus de temps pour récupérer.

 

LE TRAIN-LOW EN PRATIQUE.

Il consiste en une privation (ou au moins une restriction) en glucides aux heures qui entourent l’entraînement, vous l’aurez compris. Différents scénarios existent alors. Nous vous recommandons les suivants :

– Une séance d’entraînement à basse intensité réalisée à jeun d’une durée de 30′ à 60′. Simple et assez efficace.

– Une séance d’entraînement longue sans apport de glucides. Notez bien que dans ce cas, un apport en électrolytes sera important pour compenser le déficit minéral induit par les pertes sudorales. De plus, un apport en caféine pourra favoriser l’utilisation des graisses qui serviront alors de carburant durant l’effort.

– Limiter les apports en glucides durant la journée jusqu’à l’entraînement, en priorisant les lipides et les protéines.

– La séance bi-quotidienne : une 1ère séance réalisée à basse intensité (possiblement à jeun) dont l’objectif va être de dégrader une partie des réserves en glucides. Suite à cette séance, limitez/supprimez tout apport en glucides. Réalisez une 2nde séance d’entraînement quelques heures après la 1ère, celle-ci étant idéalement réalisée à haute intensité afin d’enfoncer le clou sur l’utilisation des sucres (cf. exemple ci-dessous).