Beginning of the season: prepare at altitude

Altitude-acclimatisation is favourable in the early season. For endurance athletes, the issue goes beyond holidays and focuses on resource development. The objective is then clearly displayed: it is performance! On the return from the “training camp”, as you may know, the verdict comes quickly. Reminders on what to expect from an altitude course.

 

As one climbs the mountain, the atmospheric pressure declines, so the body’s ability to take oxygen (O2) declines. To compensate for this lack, our cardiac output and ventilation increase at rest. During exercise, it is a bit harder: arterial desaturation in O2 also reduces the body’s maximum oxygen consumption (VO2max). Too bad, it’s the number one endurance performance factor.

At 1500m altitude, the decrease in VO2max is estimated at 2-3% and increases by ~1% per 100m step. At 2000m altitude, 10 VO2max points can theoretically be punctured from your initial aerobic capacity. But the variations are individual and, for example, they range from 3 to 10% among athletes training in Font-Romeu (1850m).

Since it changes the body’s response to stress, this environmental constraint – called “hypoxia” – is not to mask within your reflections on training.

– In quantitative terms, the weekly volume should be reduced during the first week of training before returning to normal volume: reducing the volume by 30 to 50% can constitute a benchmark for those who are initiating to altitude.

– Also in terms of intensity, it is necessary to revise the content of endurance sessions. How? By training in “relative”.

 

TRAINING IN RELATIVE.

The “gold standard” to estimate your physiological response at altitude are obviously the measurements of a VO2max test (these tests are now also available in the field). But a less invasive do-it-yourself approach can also help identify the training modifications to undertake.

1- Ideally, maximum 5′ and 20′ tests performed before and after each week of training will help you determine your new work intensities. These tests are designed to define your critical intensities according to the context in which they are performed. And GUTAÏ makes this detection automatically. The only thing you have to do is perform!

2- Otherwise, the reading of your cardiac drift over 3-4 sub-maximal speeds/power outputs will allow you to obtain a physiological work intensity comparable to the plain.

3- Finally, a reliable indicator to estimate your body’s tolerance to altitude is your feeling of the difficulty of the effort (see opposite). This feeling emerges from the information sent back to the brain by the body’s various sensors (e.g. metabolic, pulmonary, cardiac) and is extremely reliable and reproducible in new environments. Your progress will be reflected by a greater facility at a given speed or by a higher speed for the same general feeling.

Note: in parallel to the endurance work, there is a real interest of training in altitude for the practice of strength training – hypoxia reinforcing the effects of a strength training on protein synthesis.

 

WHY ACCLIMATIZE TO ALTITUDE?

Despite their reputation, the effects of high altitude training camps on endurance performance are inconsistent. Sometimes confirmed, sometimes vague, sometimes harmful… Indeed, a recent report estimates the average gain following this type of camp at ~1%. In fact, it appears that it is more at the individual level that the regularity of these positive effects seems to be established: there are “good” and “bad responders”. Which one are you?

Moreover, it appears that “good responders” preferably take advantage from the camp within three periods from 3 to 10 hours after the descent to the plain, between the 3rd and 5th day or after the 12th day. Finally, the greatest benefits are observed following acclimatisation of more than 14 days between 2000 and 2500m altitude.

 

Behind these progresses, the mechanisms that reduce altitude stress (ie. tachycardia, hyperventilation) are plural. The increase in the number of red blood cells is the most famous. It is expressed after 8-10 days of acclimatisation beyond 1500m, can reach 1% per week at 2500m altitude and results in a greater oxygen transport capacity. It is this type of increase which is spontaneously sought during a training course in altitude because it is associated with a gain of VO2max during the return to the plain. Yet the magnitude of this increase remains individual.

In parallel, muscle, ventilatory, metabolic and coordination adaptations can also be shown. As examples:

1- The “buffering” power of bicarbonates develops and makes it possible to better cope with anaerobic efforts (the phases of relaunch, sprint, ascent…).

2- The ventilation function also increases, allowing a better response to the body’s demand for exercise at altitude.

3- The metabolism of sugars is triggered more quickly during exercise.

4- Finally, the lower air density facilitates the technical production of fine motor coordination. Ideal for motor learning.

Together, these improvements contribute to improved energy efficiency.

Note: As their name implies, “anaerobic” exercises (without oxygen) do not need to be readjusted during an altitude training camp (e.g.: an intense interval training session). Nevertheless, aerobic processes (with oxygen) being involved in the recovery phases, it will be necessary to multiply by two or three the inter-series recovery time.

 

WHAT ARE THE “PLUSES” FOR A SUCCESSFUL CAMP?

Beyond training load management, practical changes can be recommended in anticipation of an altitude course. Some are essentially common sense: arriving in top form at the stage, not scheduling a stage for the first time before an important competition, remaining attentive to behavioural problems linked to fatigue (mood swings, lack of reactivity). Others, such as nutritional adjustments at altitude, remain less spontaneous.

BEFORE – To anticipate the reduction in O2 supply and the drop in glycogen reserves induced by altitude, foods rich in iron (red meat, fish, egg, parsley, spinach, beans, fig, almond, hazelnut) and carbohydrates (cereals, dry vegetables, potatoes, fruit) should be encouraged before the camp.

DURING – To limit the cellular damage induced by free radicals in greater numbers in the body in altitude, antioxidants are recommended (garlic, almond, eggplant, beetroot, coffee, lemon). Carbohydrate intakes should also be increased to 60-65% of the total energy intake (usually 50%), targeting their intake time before and immediately after the training session. Indeed, it seems that a specific timing of collations limits the respiratory infections frequently identified during these stages. Finally, in terms of hydration, a volume of ~1.5L of water in addition to the daily volume is generally recommended to compensate for fluid losses related to altitude (evaporation, ventilation, warm clothing).

 

To be well faced, the stress of altitude is therefore to be anticipated. In addition to the problems of training, those of recovery (sleep, balneotherapy), nutrition and hydration become preponderant. While the distractions of the mountain can lead to going beyond listening to oneself, let us not forget that altitude is also an attitude.

Début de saison : me préparer en altitude.

L’acclimatation à l’altitude est propice en ce début de saison. Pour les athlètes d’endurance, l’enjeu dépasse le cadre des vacances et cible le développement des ressources. L’objectif est alors clairement affiché : c’est la performance ! Au retour du « camp d’entraînement », vous le savez peut-être, le verdict tombe alors rapidement. Rappels sur ce que l’on peut attendre d’un stage en altitude.

 

À mesure que l’on gravit la montagne, la pression atmosphérique décline, donc la capacité de l’organisme à prélever l’oxygène (O2) décline. Pour compenser ce manque, on augmente alors notre débit cardiaque et ventilation au repos. À l’exercice, c’est plus contraignant encore : la désaturation artérielle en O2 entraîne une baisse de la consommation maximale d’oxygène (VO2max). Dommage, c’est le 1er facteur de performance en endurance !

À 1500m d’altitude, la baisse de VO2max est estimée à 2-3% et s’accentue de ~1% par pallier de 100m. À 2000m d’altitude, 10 points de VO2max peuvent donc théoriquement être ponctionnés à notre capacité aérobie initiale. Mais les variations sont individuelles et, par exemple, elles vont de 3 à 10% chez les sportifs en stage à Font-Romeu (1850m).

Puisqu’elle change la réponse de l’organisme à l’effort, cette contrainte environnementale – qu’on appelle « hypoxie » – n’est pas à occulter de vos réflexions sur l’entraînement.

– En termes quantitatifs, une baisse du volume hebdomadaire est à entreprendre la première semaine de stage avant de retrouver un volume normal : rogner le volume de 30 à 50% peut constituer un repère pour qui s’initie l’altitude.

– En termes d’intensité également, il est nécessaire de revoir le contenu des séances d’endurance. Comment ? En s’entraînant en « relatif ».

 

DE L’ENTRAÎNEMENT EN RELATIF.

Le ‘gold standard’ pour estimer votre réponse physiologique à l’altitude, ce sont évidemment les mesures d’un test VO2max (elles sont d’ailleurs maintenant accessibles sur le terrain). Mais un bricolage moins invasif peut aussi vous permettre de cerner les changement à entreprendre dans votre entraînement.

1- Idéalement, des tests maximaux de 5′ et 20′ réalisés avant et après chaque semaine de stage vont vous aider à déterminer vos nouvelles intensités de travail. Ces tests servent à définir vos intensités critiques en fonction du contexte dans lesquels ils sont réalisés. En plus, GUTAÏ fait cette détection de façon automatique ! La seule chose que vous avez à faire, c’est performer.

2- Autrement, le relevé de votre dérive cardiaque sur 3-4 allures sous-maximales vous permettra de dégager une intensité de travail qui sera comparable à votre entraînement habituel.

3- Enfin, un indicateur fiable pour estimer la tolérance de votre organisme à l’altitude est votre ressenti de la difficulté de l’effort (voir ci-contre). Ce ressenti émerge des informations renvoyées au cerveau par tous les différents senseurs de votre organisme (eg. métaboliques, pulmonaires, cardiaques). Cet indicateur est extrêmement fiable et reproductible dans de nouveaux environnements. Vous pouvez donc vous en servir pour ajuster vos allures et mesurer vos progrès (ex :une plus grande facilité ressentie à une vitesse donnée).

Note : en parallèle du travail d’endurance, il existe un vrai intérêt du stage en altitude pour la pratique de la musculation – l’hypoxie exacerbant les effets d’un travail de force sur la synthèse des protéines.

 

POURQUOI S’ACCLIMATER À L’ALTITUDE ?

Pour la performance ? Pas sûr… En effet, malgré leur réputation, les effets de l’altitude sur les performances en endurance sont inconsistants. Tantôt confirmés, tantôt flous, tantôt néfastes… Un rapport récent estime ainsi à ~1% le gain moyen consécutif à ce type de stage. En fait, il semble que ce soit à l’échelle de l’individu que les effets positifs s’observent : il y a des « bons » et des « mauvais répondeurs ». Lequel êtes-vous ?

On sait aussi que ces « bons répondeurs » tirent profit du camp au sein de trois périodes en particulier : de 3h à 10h après la redescente en plaine, entre le 3e et 5e jour ou après le 12e jour. Ceci en raison du contre-coup lié au changement d’air. Enfin, les plus grands bénéfices sont observés consécutivement à une acclimatation qui a duré >14 jours entre 2000 et 2500m d’altitude.

 

Derrière ces progrès, les mécanismes qui atténuent le stress d’altitude (ie. tachycardie, hyperventilation) sont pluriels. L’augmentation du nombre de globules rouge est la plus fameuse. Elle s’exprime après 8-10 jours d’acclimatation au-delà de 1500m, peut atteindre 1% par semaine à 2500m d’altitude et se traduit notamment par une plus grande capacité de transport de l’oxygène. C’est ce type d’augmentation qui est spontanément recherché lors d’un stage en altitude car elle est associé à un gain de VO2max lors du retour en plaine. Pourtant, la taille de cette augmentation reste individuelle.

En parallèle, des adaptations musculaires, ventilatoires, métaboliques et de coordination peuvent aussi se montrer. À titre d’exemples :

1- Le pouvoir ‘tampon’ des bicarbonates se développe et permet de mieux encaisser les efforts anaérobies (les phases de relance, de sprint, de montée…).

2- La fonction ventilatoire augmente aussi, permettant de mieux répondre à la demande de l’organisme à l’exercice en altitude.

3- Le métabolisme des sucres s’enclenche plus rapidement à l’effort. Ils sont plus vite disponibles pour fournir de l’énergie.

4- Enfin, la plus faible densité de l’air facilite la production technique de coordinations motrices fines. Idéal pour l’apprentissage moteur.

Ensemble, toutes ces améliorations concourent à une amélioration de votre rendement énergétique.

Note : comme l’indique leur nom, les exercices « anaérobies » (sans oxygène) n’ont pas besoin d’être réajustés lors d’un camp d’entraînement en altitude (ex : une séance intense de fractionné). Néanmoins, les processus aérobie (avec oxygène) étant impliqués dans les phases de récupération de ces exercices, il faudra alors multiplier par deux ou trois le temps de récupération inter-séries.

 

QUELS SONT LES « PLUS » POUR RÉUSSIR SON STAGE ?

Au delà de la gestion de la charge d’entraînement, il vous faudra entreprendre des changements pratiques en anticipation d’un stage en altitude. Certains relèvent du bon sens : arriver en pleine forme au stage, ne pas programmer un stage pour la 1ère fois avant une compétition importante, rester attentif aux troubles comportementaux liés à la fatigue (saute d’humeur, manque de réactivité). D’autres en revanche sont moins spontanés, comme les ajustements nutritionnelles à l’altitude.

AVANT – Pour anticiper la réduction des apports en O2 et la baisse des réserves en glycogène induites par l’altitude, privilégiez les aliments riches en fer (viandes rouges, poisson, œuf, persil, épinards, haricots, figue, amande, noisette) et en glucides (céréales, légumes sec, pomme de terre, fruits) avant le stage.

PENDANT – Pour limiter les dégâts cellulaires induits par les radicaux libres en plus grand nombre dans l’organisme, des apports en anti-oxydants sont conseillés (ail, amande, aubergine, betterave, café, citron). Les apports en glucides seront aussi à augmenter à hauteur de 60-65% de l’apport énergétique total (habituellement, ils représentent 50%), en ciblant leur moment d’ingestion avant et immédiatement après la séance. En effet, il semble qu’un timing spécifique des collations limite les infections respiratoires fréquemment recensées durant ces stages. Enfin, en termes d’hydratation, un volume de ~1,5L d’eau en plus du volume quotidien est généralement recommandé afin de compenser les pertes liquidiennes liée à altitude (évaporation, ventilation, vêtements chauds).

Pour être bien affronté, le stress de l’altitude est donc à anticiper. En plus des problématiques d’entraînement, celles de récupération (sommeil, balnéothérapie), de nutrition et d’hydratation deviennent prépondérantes. Alors que les distractions de la montagne peuvent amener à outrepasser l’écoute de soi, n’oublions pas que l’altitude, c’est aussi une attitude.