Fatigue and overreaching: the good markers you have to adopt.


 

For decades, the myth of the rebound has governed part of the mores of the sports world. This myth suggests overcompensation of performance following a high training load period. Thus, the higher the level of fatigue generated, the greater the progress recorded following recovery would be. On paper, the idea is appealing. In reality, it is better not to stick your hand in it. Explanations.

 

Strategies for progression in endurance activity are not lacking. Despite this diversity, one common denominator remains the dose-response phenomenon: in reaction to a given training load, a transformation proportional to the initial stress occurs thanks to all the adaptations developed by the body during the recovery phase. Empirically, as we know, each new learning we undertake reinforces this observation. This tends to make the logic of the rebound intuitive…

 

SO EASY?

Over the past few years, a series of scientific studies have been carried out to investigate this myth, focusing on the veracity of the phenomenon of overcompensation. One study in particular just threw a stone in the sand… The protocol in question compared, during 4 weeks of tapering, the evolution of the performances of subjects subjected to a prior overload with that of a control group. This overload period was of three weeks, during which the triathletes (already well trained) pumped up their weekly training volume to 140% of the basic volume (i.e. 21h per week for an athlete initially at 15h, maintaining training intensity and frequency). Meanwhile, the control group maintained its usual training.

 

OVERLOAD OR NO OVERLOAD ?

At the end of the three weeks of overload, even though severe fatigue was reported by the experimental group as a whole, two responder profiles could be distinguished: some of the participants saw their performance level drop by 2% during the maximum effort test (the “overreached”) while the other party managed as best as it could to maintain its efficiency level (the “tired”). The tapering period which followed then had to clarify the debates.

 

A DECLINE IN PERFORMANCE… BENEFICIAL?

While a performance test was carried out during each of the four weeks of tapering to be sure not to miss this famous rebound, the much expected overcompensation for the “overreached” did not exceed 1% of the starting level. Worse, this “rebound” was even lower than the performance achieved by the control group, which also benefited from the tapering phase (~1.5%). In reality, the surprise came from the “tired” athletes: although they had experienced the same increase in training volume as the “overreached” athletes, this group showed an improvement in performance level of ~5%. This improvement generally occurred in the second week of tapering before sliding back towards the original level at the end of the protocol.

 

REBOUND, REBOUND… WHERE ARE YOU?

By dint of protocols – and very complaisant participants – this same research team was able to begin to disentangle the ins and outs of the overreaching process thanks to the measurements made each day of the protocol and each day of the test! In other words, through workouts, some measures foresaw the step by step occurrence of this decrease in performance. These indicators were initiated in the “tired” and exacerbated in the “overreached”, which makes them true regulators/training benchmarks for any endurance sportsman.

 

OVERREACHING, WHEN YOU ARE WATCHING ME

As overload sets in, three dimensions can alert to the decadence of the body’s functioning. These dimensions determine the probability of underperformance and are interrelated.

  1. As indicated by the “tired” participants, the first symptoms are first perceptive. The daily feeling is disturbed: the usual tasks seem more difficult, getting active becomes a real challenge.
  2. Push the plug a little more in training and the previous disorders will gradually affect your behavior. You are more irritable, unable to stay focused, less patient, even impulsive and intolerant. In fact, you simply lose your ability to regulate yourself because you lack the nervous resources to regain control. And it’s not over.
  3. By continuing to push yourself during training (or in your personal life!), a global deactivation of the body occurs. In addition to a monster effort to complete an anodine session, the physiology of your body keeps reminding you: your heart rate struggles to rise, the heart rate recovery is in free fall, the technique becomes coarse and the slightest pain torture.

 

OVERREACHING, WHEN I AM WATCHING YOU

Anticipating such decadence does not require being obsessive about your state of form but strategic. And this, whatever the volume of training, from 5h to 20h / week, because stressors (sport-related, professionals, personal) accumulate and systematize comparable effects on the body. So, if you are not in the perspective of relaxing, remain vigilant at least to key elements: a particular attention paid to your feeling and your heart rate during a known session (ex: a 10x400m at controlled pace) will be largely sufficient. In periods of overload, these landmarks can inform you about the progress of your state of fatigue. Aim for a greater than usual feeling of exertion and a maintained HR (as shown by the “fatigued”). Then cut. No more overload. Time for recovery.

 

The myth of the rebound is perhaps not so illusory as that. It simply remains to define which parts of yourself to let drift, and on which parts to remain intransigent.

Fatigue et surmenage : les bons repères que vous devez adopter.


 

Depuis des décennies, le mythe du rebond gouverne une partie des mœurs du monde du sport. Ce mythe suggère une surcompensation de performance consécutive à une forte période de charge d’entraînement. Ainsi, plus le niveau de fatigue engendré serait important, plus la progression enregistrée suite à la récupération serait grande. Sur le papier, l’idée est alléchante. Dans les faits, mieux vaut ne pas y mettre sa main à couper. Explications.

 

Les stratégies de progression en activité d’endurance ne manquent pas. Malgré cette diversité, un dénominateur commun reste le phénomène de dose-réponse : en réponse à une charge d’entraînement donnée, une transformation proportionnelle au stress initial survient grâce à l’ensemble des adaptations développées par l’organisme pendant la phase de récupération. Empiriquement, on le sait, chaque nouvel apprentissage que nous entreprenons renforce cette observation. Ce qui tend à rendre la logique du rebond intuitive…

 

SI FACILE ?

Depuis quelques années, une batterie d’études scientifiques rondement menées s’est penchée sur ce mythe, avec en ligne de mire la véracité du phénomène de surcompensation. Une étude en particulier vient de jeter un pavé dans la marre… Le protocole en question comparait, au cours de 4 semaines d’affûtage, l’évolution des performances de sujets soumis préalablement à une surcharge à celle d’un groupe témoin. Cette période de surcharge était de trois semaines, durant laquelle les triathlètes (déjà bien entraînés) gonflaient leur volume d’entraînement hebdomadaire à 140% du volume de base (soit 21h par semaine pour un athlète initialement à 15h, en maintenant l’intensité et la fréquence d’entraînement). Pendant ce temps, le groupe contrôle maintenait son entraînement habituel.

 

SURCHARGE OU PAS SURCHARGE ?

À l’issue des trois semaines de surcharge, quand bien même une forte fatigue était reportée par l’ensemble du groupe expérimental, deux profils de répondeurs pouvaient être distingués : une partie des participants voyait son niveau de performance baisser de 2% lors du test d’effort maximal (les « surchargés ») tandis que l’autre partie parvenait tant bien que mal à maintenir son niveau d’efficacité (les « fatigués »). La période d’affûtage qui s’ensuivait devait alors éclaircir les débats.

 

UN DÉCLIN DE PERFORMANCE…BÉNÉFIQUE ?

Alors qu’un test de performance était effectué lors de chacune des quatre semaines d’affûtage pour être certain de ne pas manquer ce fameux rebond, la surcompensation tant attendue pour les « surchargés » ne dépassa pas 1% du niveau de départ. Déception donc… Pire, ce « rebond » était même inférieur aux performances réalisées par le groupe contrôle qui profitait lui aussi de la phase d’affûtage (~1,5%). En réalité, la surprise venait des athlètes « fatigués » : bien qu’ayant encaissé la même hausse de volume d’entraînement que les « surchargés », ce groupe démontra une amélioration du niveau de performance de ~5%. Cette amélioration pointait en général en seconde semaine d’affûtage avant de glisser vers le niveau d’origine en fin de protocole.

 

REBOND, REBOND… OÙ ES-TU ?

À force de protocoles – et de participants bien complaisants – cette même équipe de recherche a pu commencer à démêler les tenants et aboutissants du processus de surmenage grâce aux mesures réalisées chaque jour du protocole et chaque jour de test ! En d’autres termes, à force d’entraînements, certaines mesures laissaient présager de la survenue pas à pas de cette décroissance de performance. Ces indicateurs étaient initiés chez les « fatigués » et exacerbés chez les « surchargés », ce qui en fait donc de véritables régulateurs/repères d’entraînement pour tout sportif d’endurance.

 

SURMENAGE QUAND TU ME GUETTES

Au fil d’une surcharge, trois dimensions peuvent alerter quant à la décadence du fonctionnement de l’organisme. Ces dimensions déterminent la probabilité d’une contre-performance et sont imbriquées entre elles.

  1. Comme indiqué par les participants « fatigués », les premiers symptômes sont d’abord perceptifs. Le ressenti quotidien est perturbé : les tâches habituelles paraissent plus pénibles, s’activer devient un réel challenge.
  2. Poussez encore un peu le bouchon à l’entraînement et les troubles précédents vont peu à peu gangréner votre comportement. Vous êtes plus irritable, incapable de rester concentré, moins patient voire impulsif et intolérant. En fait, vous perdez simplement votre capacité d’auto-régulation car les ressources nerveuses vous manquent pour reprendre le dessus. Et ce n’est pas fini.
  3. En continuant à appuyer sur le champignon à l’entraînement (ou dans votre vie perso !), une désactivation globale de l’organisme s’installe. En plus d’un effort monstre pour rentrer une séance anodine, la physiologie de votre corps se rappelle à vous : votre fréquence cardiaque peine à décoller, la fréquence cardiaque de récupération est en chute libre, la technique devient grossière et la moindre douleur supplice.

 

SURMENAGE QUAND JE TE GUETTE

Anticiper une telle décadence ne requiert pas d’être obsessionnel sur son état de forme mais stratégique. Et ce, quel que soit le volume d’entraînement, de 5h comme de 20h /semaine, car les stresseurs (sportifs, professionnels, personnels) s’accumulent et systématisent sur le corps des effets comparables. Donc, si vous n’êtes pas dans l’optique de lâcher du lest, restez au moins vigilant à des éléments-clé : une attention particulière accordée à votre ressenti et votre FC lors d’une séance connue (ex : un 10x400m à allure maîtrisée) sera largement suffisant. En période de surcharge, ces repères pourront vous renseigner sur l’avancée de votre état de fatigue. Visez alors une sensation de pénibilité plus grande qu’à l’accoutumée et une FC maintenue (tel que l’ont montré les « fatigués »). Ensuite, coupez. Finie la surcharge. Place à la récupération.

 

Le mythe du rebond n’est peut-être donc pas tant illusoire que cela. Reste simplement à définir quelles parts de soi laisser dériver, et sur quelles parts rester intransigeant.